top of page
  • Christina Oh

Where Do I Want to Settle Down?

Scenic views, remote location, fertile land, etc. What matters most to you?

Factor 1: Scenery

Personally, I'm a big dreamer. Like I mentioned in my first post, I struggle with being rational in the face of daydreams, and getting off my ass to actually do some gardening is tough! So, it'll come as no surprise to y'all when I say that I would really, really, really, really, really like live somewhere scenic that will provide me with that inspiration to keep going. Personally, I have a preference towards hills and mountains, and want to build a home overlooking a beautiful mountain range. So, I have been looking towards the Rockies, Blue Ridge Mountains, and Catskills.


Factor 2: Proximity to Family/Friends

I always joke (I'm not joking) with my mom that I'll bring her wherever I decide to settle down. However, with her having a preference for New Jersey, where we live currently, I have also been looking at land listings on the East Coast. The cost of living and land is definitely higher here, but I've found that a lot of land listings also come with established Internet, water wells, and septic systems. I'll keep fooling myself into thinking that $10,000/acre is worth it for that.


I also want to share the abundance I imagine having on my homestead. I want my home to be open to friends, and even the occasional stranger in need. So, I imagine the location being appealing in terms of hiking trails, scenery, proximity to tourist attractions, ski resorts, etc. This is not a priority of mine, but still something I think about occasionally. Maybe it'll be a priority for you.


Factor 3: Arable Land

The point of homesteading is the pursuit of self-sufficiency. That comes with food independence, which can only be achieved on fruitful land. I don't want to buy the most beautiful land and have my crops die of lack of water in a desert environment, or lack of minerals in the soil. I can always add fertilizer and compost to rejuvenate the land, but I would like to avoid completely revitalizing soil when I could have settled in an area of the country with great farmland.


Factor 4: Accessibility

Accessibility is an important factor that, if ignored, could lead to a big dent in your bank account. Does the parcel of land have road access? Does it have electricity, access to water, internet all set up? These are things I would happily shell out more money for, if it meant I didn't have to fork out the cost out of pocket later on down the road. It's also important to note which lots have been set aside as agricultural/residential zones.


What have I missed? I've definitely missed something. Let me know!

bottom of page